I Never Bribed Assembly Members-Ortom

Posted: June 6, 2015 in BENUE, Benue 2015, News, political, Politics
Tags: , ,

The Benue State Governor, Samuel Ortom has  denied allegations of having bribed Assembly members to in the course of the election of principal officers of the 8th Assembly.
Ortom described the rumour making the round that his office was inducing members of Peoples Democratic Party ( PDP ),  with bribes


Gov. Ortom and Newly elected Speaker Terkimbir Kyange

to elect their leaders as false and reaffirmed his preparedness to work with whoever emerged as speaker for unity and development of the state.

While congratulating the new leadership of the house the governor informed the House that Benue’s position on the nation’s development map was bad and called for collective efforts to develop the State.
He  assured the eighth Benue State House of Assembly of harmonious working relationship saying the objective was to ensure for quality legislation and policies that would transform the abundant human and natural resources in the state into wealth and development.

Ortom charged the members to operate in line with the principle of separation of powers and not to use their positions as a platform for war but an avenue for effective operation for the overall development of the state.


The election which was conducted yesterday had member representing Ushongo, Rt. Hon Terkimbir Ikyange of the All Progressives Congress,  APC, emerging as Speaker.
Mr. Ikyange defeated his Peoples Democratic Party,  PDP, opponent Mr. Terkaa Ucha of Tiev Constituency of Vandeikya with 17 votes to 13.
While member representing Ukpokwu on PDP platform, Mr. James Ejembi won the deputy speaker seat with 16 votes over his opponent, Mr. Joseph Ojobo Ogbadibo also of the PDP who got 14 votes.
The elections were conducted by members shortly after being addressed by Governor Samuel Ortom and the deliverance of the Governor’s proclamation order by the Clerk of the House, Dr. Torese Agena.
After resuming his seat as the Speaker, Mr. Ikyange administered oath of allegiance and oath of membership on the other members of the assembly marking the formal take-off of the Assembly, other house leadership positions which are purely party affairs are yet to be decided.
The 30 member House of Assembly is made up of 15 members of the PDP, 14 of the APC and one Labour Party. 


Let's know what you think of this post

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s